Disconnecting: health technology

Scrub-a-dub-dub, time to unplug. 

 

After many years of resistance, I finally became a pump wearer back at the start of November….This means I have a device attached to me 99% of every day. My 1% of disconnect? Usually means I’m showering.

insulin-pump-tslim-g4-rollover-straight

Also required to come off before I get in the shower : my Fitbit. Unless it’s plugged in charging, this is usually the only time it comes off my wrist.

And finally, my iphone. I’m the type of person who never puts my iphone down and yes I’ll bring it into the bathroom. Blame it on too many law & order episodes while in NYC.

Thus my new routine … the one moment I’m truly disconnected : the shower. Mind you, that the pump has an infusion set (cleo) that stays attached, so even then I don’t feel truly free of devices.

Maybe it’s because the pump requires the actual act of disconnecting, but it wasn’t until the third item was added to the routine did I realize what a process this had become.  After peeling off the layers of clothes comes the disconnecting of devices. Post shower, after I scoop up my clothes, I then gather up my electronics. While gone are the shower caddy days thankfully, sometimes I feel a tote is necessary as I juggle the multiple items. While I had never given much thought to the act of getting into a shower, it has now become a bit of a ritual

I’m also starting to think I should set up a charging station in the bathroom rather than next to my bed….

Do you have trouble unplugging? Is there a time/place/activity that’s your device free zone? 

Related Reading
How to Unplug – Waiting on Martha


Leave a comment